Parliament Live Updates: Rajya Sabha adjourned again as suspended MPs refuse to leave House

Trinamool Congress's Derek O'Brien, Aam Aadmi Party's Sanjay Singh and six other Rajya Sabha MPs, accused of unruly behaviour in the House during the passage of two farm bills on Sunday, have been suspended for a week.

New Delhi | September 21, 2020, 11:08 IST

Parliament Monsoon Session news: The Rajya Sabha Chairman on Monday suspended eight MPs for the remaining part of the Monsoon Session. The Opposition MPs were suspended over yesterday’s unprecedented drama in Rajya Sabha during the passing of controversial farm bills. The MPs include Trinamool Congress’s Derek O’Brien, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)’s Sanjay Singh. Rajya Sabha had on Sunday passed two key farm bills, dubbed as the biggest reform in agriculture by the government, with voice vote amid unruly scenes by protesting opposition members. While the BJP and its allies are claiming that Opposition MPs disrupted the house, Opposition leaders accused Rajya Sabha deputy chairman Harivansh Narayana Singh of failing to adhere to established parliamentary procedure. The issue is set to rock both Houses of Parliament today as well. For the latest from Parliament, stay tuned to

Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu has suspended eight Members of Parliament (MPs) including Trinamool Congress’s Derek O’Brien and Aam Aadmi Party’s Sanjay Singh, accused of unruly behavior in the House in presence of Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narayan Singh during the passage of two farm bills on Sunday, for a week.

Asserting that Sunday was a “bad day” for Rajya Sabha, Venkaiah Naidu suspended Derek O Brien, Sanjay Singh, Rajeev Satav, KK Ragesh, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Syed Nazir Hussain, and Elamaran Karim for one week over the ruckus in Rajya Sabha on Sunday.

“Derek O’Brien, Sanjay Singh, Rajeev Satav, KK Ragesh, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Syed Nazir Hussain and Elamaran Karim suspended for one week for unruly behaviour with the Chair,” Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu said.

Taking the issue of the alleged heckling of the Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman, Venkaiah Naidu rapped Derek O’Brien as he began speaking. Venkaiah Naidu also asked Derek O’Brien to leave the House.

READ  'Full of lies': China slams Pelosi's Winter Olympics boycott comment

“I order Mr Derek [O’Brien] to go out of the House,” Venkaiah Naidu said.

“It was a bad day for Rajya Sabha yesterday when some members came to the well of the House. Deputy Chairman was physically threatened. He was obstructed from doing his duty. This is unfortunate and condemnable. I suggest to MPs, please do some introspection,” Venkaiah Naidu said.

Venkaiah Naidu also rejected the no-confidence motion against Deputy Chairman on grounds that it was not in a proper format.

Parliament Live Updates

Twelve Opposition parties on Sunday gave a notice for a no-confidence motion against Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh over the manner in which two farm Bills were passed in the Upper House after he overruled their pleas for an adjournment of the proceedings.

The BJP also moved a motion for stringent action against several Opposition MPs, who are accused of unruly behavior in the House during the passage of two farm bills.

The Rajya Sabha passed the Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and the Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020, through voice vote amid the din caused by opposition protests.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: