Australia VS India: Aussies Lift the World Cup 2023 Title and Break the Hearts of Billions of Indians!

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup final 2023 against India, etching their name in history with a record-extending sixth title. The nail-biting encounter at Ahmedabad witnessed exceptional performances from both teams, with Travis Head's heroic 137 leading Australia to a memorable win.

In a spectacular clash that had cricket enthusiasts on the edge of their seats, Australia emerged victorious in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup final 2023 against India, etching their name in history with a record-extending sixth title. The nail-biting encounter at Ahmedabad witnessed exceptional performances from both teams, with Travis Head‘s heroic 137 leading Australia to a memorable win.

Australia’s Remarkable Chase:

The World Cup final began with India setting a challenging target of 241 runs after being sent into bat. Despite a commendable effort from the Indian batting lineup, Australia’s bowlers, spearheaded by Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins, restricted the hosts to 240. Starc claimed 3 crucial wickets, while Cummins demonstrated exceptional control with figures of 2-34 in his allotted 10 overs.

In response, Australia, the World Cup final 2023 winner, found themselves at a precarious 47-3, but Travis Head’s sensational century turned the tide. The left-handed opener’s 137 off 95 balls, embellished with 14 fours and a six, steered Australia to a commanding position. Despite a brief scare with the dismissal of Steve Smith, Australia reached 241 with six wickets in hand, securing a historic victory.

Key Moments in the Final:

Rohit Sharma‘s explosive start for India in the powerplay set the stage for a high-scoring encounter. However, a brilliant running catch by Travis Head to dismiss Sharma and subsequent breakthroughs by Pat Cummins put the hosts under pressure. KL Rahul‘s resilient 66 and Virat Kohli‘s steady 54 were vital contributions, but Mitchell Starc’s crucial wickets kept Australia in control.

World Cup final 2023
World Cup final 2023

Prizes and Awards:

Australia collected the winner of the World Cup 2023 prize money, which is around US $4 million (INR 33,25,08,400) from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

As the celebrations unfolded for the Australian team, individual brilliance did not go unnoticed. Travis Head’s match-winning innings earned him the coveted title of “Man of the Match World Cup 2023 final”. Additionally, Virat Kohli’s consistent performance throughout the tournament earned him the prestigious “Player of the Tournament World Cup 2023 prize & award.” Virat was also seen collecting Man of the Series World Cup 2023 prize money.

Let’s have a look at the World Cup 2023 all-prize list:

ICC World Cup 2023 prize distribution was carried out after the match, where India, as the runner-up, received US $2 million (INR 16,62,54,200). The losing semi-finalists, which is South Africa and New Zealand, who lost to Australia and India, respectively, got US $800,000 (INR 6,65,01,680) each.

The six teams that could not get into the top four that is, England, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Netherlands, and Afghanistan, got $100,000 (INR 83,17,710). The winner of each league-stage match will be getting paid $40,000 (INR 33,25,242). The total prize money the ICC distributed is US $10 million or INR 83,13,10,500.

Record-Setting Year for Australia:

Australia’s triumph in the World Cup final adds to their stellar year across formats, following their victory over India in the World Test Championship final and the successful retention of the Ashes. Pat Cummins, leading from the front, orchestrated a dominant display by the Australian team on their way to claiming the World Cup.

David Warner’s Response:

After the win, Australian opening batter David Warner took a cheeky dig at critics who had written off the team following defeats in the opening matches against South Africa and India. Warner’s resilience and the team’s turnaround from being “0-2 and written off” highlight the character and determination of the Australian squad.


The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 final will be etched in cricketing history as a thrilling contest that showcased the resilience, skill, and determination of both Australia and India. Travis Head’s match-winning century and Australia’s overall team performance will be remembered as they clinched their sixth World Cup title, capping off a phenomenal year in international cricket.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button